Scholarship Contest

Chick and Sophie Major Memorial Duck Calling Contest


High School seniors may compete for college scholarships totaling $4,250 at the 2017 Chick and Sophie Major Memorial Duck Calling Contest.  

A copy of the contestants high school transcript must be provided at registration along with a proper ID. 

The first-place winner will receive $2,000. Second place will receive $1,000, 3rd place will receive $750, and 4th place will receive $500.

Open to any current high school senior graduating in 2018, the competition will be on Friday, November 24, 2017, at 11:00 a.m. The contest is associated with the World’s Champion Duck Calling Contest and will take place on the Main Street Stage beside the Stuttgart Chamber of Commerce.

During its 43-year history, the renowned contest has awarded more than $73,000 in scholarships to young duck callers attending 32 different colleges and universities in 13 different states.

Some of the winners have attended Arkansas Tech University, East Arkansas Community College, Arkansas State University, Iowa State University, Wisconsin University, University of Central Arkansas, UA Monticello, Southwest Tennessee Community College, Spartan School of Aeronautics, Mississippi State University, Louisiana Tech, and University of Arkansas.

Honoring the memories of Stuttgart’s legendary champion duck callers and duck calls makers, Chick and Sophie Major, the competition began in 1974 with a single $500 scholarship given to the winner.

Throughout the years, funds for the scholarships have been raised in many different ways, including duck call sales, print sales, duck call pin sales, raffles, fish frys, hamburger cookouts, skeet and sporting clay shoots, donations, and memorials.

Anyone desiring to make a donation to the Chick and Sophie Major Memorial Duck Calling Contest is encouraged to contact committee members, Dixie Holt at (870) 364-2551,; Brenda Cahill at (501) 208-0949,

2016 Chick and Sophie Major Memorial Duck Calling Contest

Champion Chase Wall
First runner up Hunter Hickingbotham
Second runner up Kelsi Mashburn
Third runner up HUnter Lawrence

Past Winners

1974 Scott Galloway, Stuttgart, AR
1975 David Bisbee, Stuttgart, AR
1976 Trey Crawford, Stuttgart, AR
1977 Sterling Sloan, Stuttgart, AR
1978 No Contest Held
1979 Jim Simpson, Stuttgart, AR
1980 David Hohn, Diaz, AR
1981 Wade Mock, Stuttgart, AR
1982 David Cahill, Pine Bluff, AR
1983 Freddie Ibbotson, Stuttgart, AR
1984 Buddy Owens, Pine Bluff, AR
1985 Dean Pappas, Pine Bluff, AR
1986 Bryan Hancock, Stuttgart, AR
1987 Bobby Dunn, Jacksonville, AR
1988 Kirk Coker, Stuttgart, AR
1989 Lee Ward, Stuttgart, AR
1990 John Stephens, Stuttgart, AR
1991 William Reichenbach, Stuttgart, AR
1992 Jason Coleman, Holly Grove, AR
1993 Bret Prine, Stuttgart, AR
1994 Dean Watson, St. Charles, AR

1995 Brian Smith, Stuttgart, AR
1996 Amanda Dierks, Stuttgart, AR
1997 Jeremy Spellmeyer, Stuttgart, AR
1998 Drake Butler, Hope, Ar
1999 Mark Sheppard, Plymouth, MN
2000 Bailey Dickson, Stuttgart, AR
2001 Keith Tucek, Stuttgart, AR
2002 Nathan Davis, White Hall, AR
2003 Daniel Duke, Brinkley, AR
2004 SlaytonGearin, Gleason, TN
2005 Caleb Davisson, Clarence, IA
2006 Mitch Downs, Webster City, IA
2007 Jacob Stanley, Dover, DE
2008 Jesse Headid, Elkhorn, NE
2009 Jake Lay, Parson, TN
2010 Robbie Iverson, Ottawa, IL
2011 Gavin Roberts, Greenbrier, AR
2012 Nathan Davidson, Conway AR
2013 Will Nanney of Gleason, TN
2014 Ben Perez of Burlington, NC
2015 Ben Burgess of England, AR
2016 Chase Wall of Four Oaks, NC